My tongue is in my hand…

The Calender Project

Posted on: January 10, 2010

Last year for Christmas, my sister gave me a calender from Shutterfly.com with tons of pictures on it. I knew I obviously wasn’t going to throw this away when the year ended, so I decided that I would write little memories/events throughout the year and keep it as a sort of shorthand journal.

Now that the year is done and I am looking back over this, I’m so glad I did it. I gave up truly journaling to document daily experiences a long time ago, not because I didn’t think it was worth it, but more because I would feel like I had to record EVERYTHING and didn’t always feel like I had the time. Not to mention, I ran out of journals at one point and started using notebooks, which turned out badly because I also used notebooks to make lists, draft poems, do preliminary paperwork for work, doodle, etc. As a result of this, I have tons of random, but I fear kind of important, notebooks that I can’t throw out, but take way too much energy and time to actually organize or utilize at this point in my life.

This is why blogging appeals to me, as well as why facebook statuses, and this calender project appeal to me. It by no means captures the whole picture, or all the nuances of a day, a month, or a life, but I daresay it’s better than nothing. And as the year went on, sometimes I really needed to look at the calender and see that life was still happening, life is still good, even when bad things happen. There’s a possibility that recording life, particularly good things or meaningful things improved my ability to live in the moment this year. I also made a “Year List” of things I wanted to do or accomplish during the year, which I think was useful as well. But that’s another “Project”.

So, with no more chit chat about it, here is January 2009, as recorded by me, on my calender.

Jan 1 2009: Hung out at home- Rach came over

Jan 3 2009: Natalie’s Pink Cake Party!

Jan 4 2009: Caribou! Patti’s home!

Jan 5 2009: Carol’s B-day. Read “The Boleyn Inheritance”

Jan 6 2009: They said Natalie’s ready for UNCC! πŸ™‚

Jan 7 2009: TV Broke 😦

Jan 8 2009: Fell asleep reading creative loafing

Jan 9 2009: ANZI PIZZA & CLEAN HOUSE

Jan 10 2009: Monkey Joes w/Carol & Panthers play off party at Patti’s

Jan 11 2009: Playdough, groceries, riding tricyle

Jan 13 2009: TV’s Back!

Jan 15 2009: Osaka w/Meg, Kim, Nat, Melissa

Jan 16 2009: Mom and Dad’s- Chinese and Chocolate Cake

Jan 17 2009: Chris & Alicia-Dominoes-88 minutes

Jan 18 2009: Church, Baby shower, Maw Maw’s

Jan 20 2009: SNOW DAY & Obama’s Inaguaration

Jan 21 2009: Glow in the Dark Pajamas

Jan 22 2009: Book Club at Haley’s

Jan 24 2009: BK (Rach) Marble Slab & Harley puppy

Jan 26 2009: Totally Lost – Thanks Mapquest!

Jan 28 2009: Got “The Godmother” in the mail (book club)

Jan 30 2009: Taxes Done πŸ™‚

Jan 31 2009: Circus Day! w/Lily and Sonny

5 Responses to "The Calender Project"

This is awesome! I want to get a calendar now and DO THIS!

Do you have every month or just this one?

I have it for every month. You should definitely do it. I didn’t even know how glad I’d be that I did. And I’m doing it again this year, it’s kind of something you get in the habit of and don’t want to NOT do once you get started πŸ™‚
I think I’m going to post the other months later.

p.s. I’m really glad to have you back here πŸ™‚

Good to be back. πŸ˜›

[…] other thing I did that year was keep a memory calendar. My sister had made me a Shutterfly photo calendar and since I knew I wouldn't want to trash it at […]

Leave a Reply

