My tongue is in my hand…

How many cups of coffee will it take to get across North Carolina?

Posted on: May 29, 2009

There’s this guy. His name is John. Or maybe he spells it Jon. I don’t really know. I also don’t know his last name. I met him at the coffee shop. We happened to be sitting at the same table one day, because we happened to have the same friend sitting at the same table. He always has at least one book with him.  If I have the good fortune of catching him there, I usually pick up his literature and flip through it while he plays chess (usually with Adam, or maybe Mark, or possibly someone else) right before they go rock climbing. I like them, they’re good people. They don’t mind talking, or not talking, they don’t mind answering questions or asking them. They don’t mind if I sit with them and ignore them while I do other things.  They don’t seem to mind if I chatter stupidly for a while. But the truly notable thing for the purpose of this post is, he is walking across North Carolina. He started at the outer banks and is walking to the mountains (I think).

He told me when I first met him that he wanted to do this, journaling the whole experience. I think it’s a great idea. I mean, logistically there are some issues, but I hope it’s great. I’m glad he’s doing it. Mainly because he said he wanted to. I hope he’s writing about it.

It makes me think of Eustace Conway and the book “The Last American Man”. I told John/Jon to read that book. Seemed right up his alley, considering his plan. Right now, I’m reading a book I got from paperbackswap by William Least Heat-Moon. It’s called “Blue Highways”. I find it fascinating. Also fascinating, “What Should I Do With My Life” by Po Bronson. The books are not the same, but similar in ways. I’m not much for writing book reviews or summaries, so if you want to know, you’ll have to google it.

Anyways, I’m sending good vibes John/Jon’s way. Maybe I’ll run into another mutual friend soon who’s heard from him. I’m interested to know it all…how many cups of coffee do you think that would take…?

3 Responses to "How many cups of coffee will it take to get across North Carolina?"

Your writing’s changed. Looks like you’ve found your flow, your voice. All that practice paid off. But it never stops there, right? Writing’s a mutable phenomenon. I really like this post. Found it nostalgic, wistful, for some reason. You’ll find him back at his spot, maybe ragged, but no worse for the wear.

Thank you Sam!

Sheesh. This popcorn is super-dry in my mouth.

Wow I love hearing about stuff like that. About people just… doing something, anything…

That sounds ridiculous.

I really do though. I’d love to be alongside that guy, talk with him, see his sights, watch his travels. Hey! Read his blog! ^_^

Heck I’d still be out there doing it if I hadn’t already had my big adventure… I still have yet to really tell you about all that haven’t I?

Seriously bex, sometime… get to Australia. Or at least go on a big roadtrip. Something… it’s the absolute best.

And if you run into Jon/John again, let him know a fellow traveler says hello, wishes him well… and is proud to know that some people still move.

That includes you bex. ^_- You especially.

Leave a Reply

