My tongue is in my hand…

Happy to be here…

Posted on: November 3, 2008

Political Compass Test Results for me:

Economic Left/Right: -4.38

Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -4.05

Position of some well known political figures:

So, with the election basically a day away, I’ve started wondering if I will vote. (Have a mentioned before that I’m a procrastinator?)  I’m not wondering who I will vote for because I already know.  I still don’t think that voting makes the difference we are told, or that it is our biggest “American duty”. The following is a response I posted to a friend’s journal regarding voting:

I don’t like to make uninformed decisions and I feel due to the way politics and the media operates I can not ever make a truly informed decision regarding politics, not to mention the fact that you will agree and disagree with both candidates on important issues, it feels ridiculous to feel like there is a “best” choice. I don’t think the way voting is done even really represents the people of the country who do vote.

I care a lot about people but I think it’s a bit out of whack for people to be so hopped up on voting and politics and so not hopped up on living a day to day life that encourages respect and conscientiousness within their own community. I know things I can do in my life and world to make a positive impact but I don’t know anything about the candidates or what they are really capable of and will follow through with because it’s not designed that we really know anything about them or about the government functions at all; just what parties and supporters want to and need to hear, that’s all that we get- fronts, and what I think is a false sense of input into our political system.

I think the old saying stands: “If you want something done right, you’ve got to do it yourself” so, if we want our country to be a better place, we have to stop thinking politicians are the answer and start looking at more grassroots measures to take in which we get our hands dirty making visible change and that could actually have the capability of influencing politicians on a real level instead of a once every four years vote based on whatever info they want us to have.

I don’t think it’s that people shouldn’t vote, I just think people shouldn’t act like that’s the best damn thing they could ever do for their country. If you want to be part of the solution to problems in this country, then you need to DO something on a regular basis that feeds positivity into your community and addresses the specific problems you see around you, even if it’s just on very small scale, the pay it forward kind of concept.

People say if you don’t vote, you can’t complain. Why not? If people aren’t doing things I agree with, I sure as hell can complain. That’s part of the whole free speech thing in the Bill of Rights. I mean, we complain all the time about things we didn’t vote for. But to to be honest, why complain? I say either do something about it or get over it, otherwise, you’re wasting your energy.

I, should I decide to vote, will vote for the person I get the best gut feeling about.  That’s kind of how I operate anyways, by my gut.  I actually have pretty good instincts (not that I always listen to them!).  And the people supporting the opposite candidate and the way they are supporting him kind of hammers the nails in the coffin for me.

But really, we don’t know anything about how someone will handle the position or whatever will happen during that time.  We have no idea what either candidate will really try to do once in office.  So to me, it’s more about the person themselves, and I know they definitely try to hit on that in campaigning, painting us all kinds of pictures…even so, there’s one candidate that I would roll my eyes at because I can feel something I really don’t like pulsing around him.  Granted, I have suspicions about glossiness of the likability of my favored candidate, but not serious misgivings.  And I know in the public eye, as a politician, there’s a bit of persona that must be had.  It’s inevitable, particularly with such mass media up your ass non stop.

When it all comes down, I really am happy to find myself within walking distance of Gandhi (according to the little quiz there) because that’s just a cool place to be, and probably because it was the kind of place I’d hope to fall on a quiz like that. It’s nice to be incongruent (with the general society in which I live) and in good company 🙂




Leave a Reply

