My tongue is in my hand…

This, I can do

Posted on: September 4, 2008

I think I have found a dessert that I can make cheaply with consistent outcome. I, for various reasons, haven’t done a whole lot in the kitchen and when I do, I don’t (can’t) spend much on ingredients which of course doesn’t really matter because the truth is, if it has more than 6 ingredients that aren’t seasonings, or a couple paragraphs of instructions, chances are, I’m not making it.  And because I like to be creative (or maybe because I like to think I know and can do things or maybe because I don’t actually have an ingredient but think something else will work just fine)  I will try often try to modify it.

This means things rarely turn out as expected.  That’s life, right?  If I had a cooking motto it would be something like “Who cares what it looks like as long as it tastes good”  (This could really be a life motto if you changed the word taste to something else)  Anyways, the recent results have been “you need a spoon to eat ’em” brownies and the subsequent “these were supposed to be iced brownie cupcakes but are now caved-in brownie goo for which you need a spoon to eat ’em” brownie cupcakes and chocolate pie that was described by my daughter as chocolate syrup and by my husband as chocolate “you need a spoon to eat it” cake batter.  My friend Alicia is very fond of these desserts and the caved-in brownie goo was hit with book club, so I’m not ever too concerned at the gooey outcomes.

But:  I have made the following recipe twice and am very proud of achieving the expected outcome (plus it’s really easy and cheap)

From the “Serving One Another In Love” Dulin’s Grove Church cookbook

Mom’s Any Fruit Cobbler (Betty R. Honeycutt)

Melt 1/2 stick margarine in baking dish

Mix: 1c. self-rising flour, 1/2 c sugar, 3/4 c milk

Pour batter over melted margarine.  Do not mix.  Top with fruit (spoon your sweetened favorite fruit: blackberries, peaches, cherries, etc. over the batter). Do not mix. Bake at 350 for 35 to 45 min until golden brown.

I may eat it for breakfast.

Leave a comment