My tongue is in my hand…

Interesting statistic

Posted on: September 4, 2008

I just read a statistic in Charlotte Parent that according to the U.S. Department of Education, men make up 42 percent of the nation’s college population.

That means women make up the remaining 58 percent.

I think I’ll let my dad know about this.  He’s like a secret Spice Girl- all about girl power and such.

I wonder: is it that more women are entering college, less men are entering college, there are more women than men in places where college is a viable option, more women going back to college after having families, more women pursuing advanced degrees than in the past…

The article was saying that this was pushing companies to offer more flexible work schedules and for more companies to be “family friendly” since  women are making up a significant part of the work force and still taking on the major role domestically .

Of course, this also means more men are taking on domestic duties (thank you!) Which in turn means these men (if working) need flexibility too.

When both parents are working, there is an issue of childcare, the breakdown of quality time with children and as a family.

But, if companies were more and more willing to acknowldege the importance of family and the effect caring for a family has on employees because they HAVE to, then maybe we would eventually have more healthy work/family balance.

Of course, the next issue is that of equal flexibility for singles and childless couples.  I notice at my job (which has flexible hours) that people with kids are given breaks much more so than people that don’t have kids and while this is logical, it’s not fair to give (unwanted ) extra work to these supposedly less burdened employees.

Overall, I think we work too too much and spend too too little time living.  It is our challenge in our personal lives to do what we can to balance it out, but it would be great if some major changes were made in the workforce to help us out a little.

3 Responses to "Interesting statistic"

Communal lifestyles are the way to go. It wouldnt make sense in an industrial world like ours, but a community that shares tasks towards self-sustenance would provide an identity sense. For some people their work is their life, and for others there is a sharp divide between the two. A mellow balance in which one works towards staying alive, yet has the time to interact within the community. Wishful, scattering thinking on me part… the pastoral life of farmers and herders seem much more peaceful, perhaps more meaningful.

i agree completely. i have referenced little house on the prairie in the blog before because it was one of my favorite series as a child and if you’ve read about the family farm (and i kind of assume you have because you seem to read this often, but it may just be certain days or things so maybe not…) i stay nostalgic over it. of course it would be hard and scary but in a practical way, not in a “if i don’t pay this bill i’ll ruin my credit and never get to buy a house” kind of way

I read “My Side of the Mountain” and “Hatchet”, off the top of my head. There were others, but I loved the concept of natural simplicity. Hard and scary, and if you didn’t die within the first few months, you’d make it. We as a culture have lost the necessary knowledge for survival, and I can’t help but feel that hard living is not too far ahead in our future. The world, under its stresses, is creaking rickety.

I don’t have to worry about that. My credit is shot like a turkey just before Thanksgiving. But for the dame… that’s a different story. There’s that natural urge to roost. In this time and age, I think everyone should just say, screw this. This crumbling structure only works because everyone plays along. (Bear with me, I’m new at being a cynic).

Leave a Reply

