My tongue is in my hand…

So far this summer…

Posted on: July 28, 2008

So far this summer:

Took Natalie to Movies in the Park in Locust twice and saw the Bee Movie and Shrek 3 and bought and consumed between 3 adults and 1 two year old approximately 4 bags of popcorn, 3 bags of cotton candy, 2 snow cones, 2 bags of M&M’s, sweetarts, a nerds rope, and 15$ worth of McDonalds

Took Natalie to the Lake Tillary and spent the day at the sandbar with Dad and there is surprisingly little to say except it was really nice and Natalie had a blast

Went to Oakboro 4th of July Parade and festival and watched Natalie “drive” a blue jeep several times and saw a guy wearing white high tops, tapered leg stonewash jeans with a white wife-beater tucked in to them and a blonde mullet!

Took Natalie to the Lazy 5 Ranch and realized I am kind of scared of ostriches and let a big deer-like animal lick my hand and saw the cutest little baby pigs and poor Natalie got scared by a peacock flying over her but otherwise had a good time

Went to Book Club at Sharon’s (June: Sunday’s at Tiffany’s and Tulle Little Tulle Late) and Alicia’s(July: Friday Night Knitting Club) where the power went out for no apparent reason and we realized we have been exclusively reading the same books and meeting to discuss them (and eat, and talk) for a year now! Happy Anniversary to Book Club! Haley said we’re celebrating with Margarita’s at our next meeting 😉

Went to my cousin Lexy’s wedding and wore a dress I bought on clearance for 7$ right before I found out I was pregnant and had not yet worn and finally just decided that if it was still too tight I would just have to get over it because it’s not baby weight when your kid is two and half and only after I put it on and started moving around (to walk out the door) did I realize that I really wished I had some double sided tape because it was pretty low cut and pretty much one of the last things I want to do is flash one of my cousins or great uncles (which I managed not to do, yay me!)

Met Julie R. for coffee and realized she also LOVED the Romeo and Juliet with Claire Danes and Leonardo DiCaprio and also LOVED the soundtrack J

Went to see The Dark Knight at 11pm on a Sunday night with Jason which made me feel like I was 16 again because it’s a pretty uncommon occurrence to be able to get someone to sit (thanks Amanda) on a 30 minute notice at 11pm on a Sunday night. I somehow only ate ½ my box of Milk Duds, which is nothing short of amazing, as the whole box is usually gone before the movie actually starts

Went to Katie’s graduation party at my cousin Stephanie’s at watched Natalie’s cousin drive her around in a Barbie jeep and it reminded me of my cousin Julie driving us around in this go kart that broke down like every other week

Ate at Troutman’s with the whole aunt/uncle/cousin crew which is a throwback to younger, pre boyfriend/girlfriend/husband/children days and rehashed the most painful and funny ways to fall off of objects (such as sleds) tied to motor powered objects (such as 4 wheelers and cars)

Went to my first keg party…which I’m sure is a little different with mainly almost 30’s instead of barely 20’s but still had a lot of fun and found the dumbest things hilarious, as alcohol manages to help you do and also managed not to die of boredom while talking about houses and other stuff that may or may not interest me at a party

Went to best-friend-since-kindergarten Carol’s house and sitting with her on her porch swing watching Natalie run around her yard it somehow felt like we were still kids, maybe 8 or 10. And the most bizarre thing, we have the same comforter set.  I just started laughing when I saw it in her bedroom, sometimes it’s like those twins that have been separated at birth but still like the same music and food and clothes. We picked the same weekends for our weddings and colors for bridesmaids dresses. So I guess it’s not really that bizarre that we have the same comforter set.

Went to Alicia’s and watched…hold on…foggy memory here…watched a UFC fight? Or watched people play horseshoes and Wii? All of it? Drank too much I do believe of whatever it was that Alicia mixed for me…so I don’t remember much, but it was fun, always is!

part two up next…

Leave a Reply

