My tongue is in my hand…

Six word memoir

Posted on: February 12, 2008

Read on npr.org about this book: “Not Quite What I Was Planning: Six word memoirs by writers famous and obscure” by Larry Smith and Rachel Fershleiser.

Here’s mine:

Just Combine A Few Country Songs.

Kind of like this:

The Farm, The Family, The Church (A trinity of sorts)

I was raised off of Route Three,
Out where the blacktop ends.

It’s where I drank my first beer.
It’s where I found Jesus.
(Red dirt road, Brooks and Dunn)

Family ties run deep in this land.
And I’m never very far from what I am. I was born country and that’s what I’ll always be.
Like the rivers and the woodlands wild and free.
I got a hundred years of down home running through my blood.
I was born country and this country’s what I love.
(Born Country by Alabama)

I’ve seen mornings when a thousand bales of hay
Looked like a mountain to a boy my age
And I’ve seen my daddy in that hot southern sun
Move those mountains one by one
(Trace Adkins, Working mans wage)

The cows get loose and run right thru the fast food parking lots (Daddy won’t sell the farm by Montgomery Gentry)

Well I ain’t first class
But I ain’t white trash
(Some girls do, Sawyer Brown)

I feel no shame
I’m proud of where I came from
I was born and raised in the boondocks… And I can feel
That muddy water running through my veins
And I can taste
That honeysuckle and it’s still so sweet…
having a little was just enough
(Boondocks, Little Big Town)

Ain’t no closin’ time, ain’t no cover charge
just country boys and girls gettin down on the farm
(country boys and girls Tim Mcgraw)

That’s what I love about Sunday:
Sing along as the choir sways;
Every verse of Amazin’ Grace,
An’ then we shake the Preacher’s hand.
(What I Love about Sunday by Craig Morgan)

Identity:

When she was 3 years old
on her daddy’s knee
He said you can be
anything you want to be

She has future plans and dreams at night
When they tell her life is hard she says that’s alright
(Wild One by Faith Hill)

She was daddy’s little girl
Momma’s little angel
Teacher’s pet, pageant queen
She said “All my life I’ve been pleasin’ everyone but me,
Waking up in someone else’s dream”
(Someone Else’s Dream, Faith Hill)

I’m gonna be somebody, one of these days I’m gonna break these chains
I’m gonna be somebody, someday, you can bet your hard earned dollar I will
(Travis Tritt, I’m Gonna Be Somebody)

The Boy, College, The Baby, Career

Can’t concentrate on the preacher preaching
My attention span done turned off
I’m honed in on that angel singing
Up there in the choir loft
(Daddy’s Money, Mark Chesnutt)

Now her daddy’s in the kitchen – starin’ out the window
Scratchin’ and a rackin’ his brains
How could 18 years just up and walk away
Our little pony-tailed girl growed up to be a woman
Now she’s gone in the blink of an eye
She left the suds in the bucket
And the clothes hangin’ out on the line
(Sara Evans, Suds in the Bucket)

You were Cum Laude with the strawberry lips
Had the whole world danglin’ at your fingertips
Your senior year
And I was your daddy’s worst fear…
We were overdrawn and barely hangin’ on Then one night you came to me
With tears in your eyes and an EPT
And said “guess what, yeah, baby ready or not”
Well, I just smiled but I was scared to death How am I gonna’ have a kid when I’m still a kid myself ?
(Phil Vassar, In a Real Love)

You went to college
I pulled graveyard
(Eric Church, Guys Like Me)

I’ll stand barefooted in my own front yard with a baby on my hip (Redneck Woman, Gretchen Wilson)

Go to work, make up
try to keep the balance up
Between love and money
(Trisha Yearwood, American Girl)

If the Good Lord’s willin’ when we’re old and gray
The kids are grown up and moved away
We’ll be rockin’ there side by side barbeque chicken and a tv guide

(Next to you next to me, Shenandoah)


Words of Wisdom and such:

The only thing that stays the same is everything changes, everything changes. (Time Marches On, Tracy Lawrence)

You’ve got to stand for something or you’ll fall for anything
You’ve got to be your own man not a puppet on a string
Never compromise what’s right and uphold your family name
You’ve got to stand for something or you’ll fall for anything
(Aaron Tippin, You’ve got to stand for something)

Life’s a dance you learn as you go
Sometimes you lead, sometimes you follow
Don’t worry about what you don’t know
Life’s a dance you learn as you go
(Life’s a Dance, John Michael Montgomery)

Life is not tried, it is merely survived
If you’re standing outside the fire
(Garth Brooks, Standing Outside the Fire)

the farm

1 Response to "Six word memoir"

Hey Becca!

That’s great that you and Jason are thinking about getting involved. We’re thinking about Friday evening (once a month) right now. That may change…we’ll see. I encourage you to, if you have any spare time, read something by Brian McLaren… NPR interviewed him about a week and a half ago on Charlotte talks… http://wfae.org/wfae/nav1024.cfm?cat=18&subcat=93
This interview was done on Friday, Feb. 1st. right before we had him in Charlotte for the “Everything Must Change” Tour. Anyway, I thought you might be interested in hearing what’s going on in the “emerging” frontier. I really enjoy your blog. You were always fantastic with your poetry! Keep it up!

Looking forward to seeing you guys!

-Steven

Leave a Reply

